‘My Skin and Me’

Yes yes I am aware the the title of this post couldn’t really get any cheeseyer but someone suggested it to me and now I just can’t think of any other title! Anyway it covers the focus of this post so I figured why not. So basically I’m going to briefly outline my skin/acne background for around the past five years to give a basic starting point of where my skin is at before starting isotretinoin.


Current/previous skin ‘type’

Since I hit my teenage years my skin has always been on the oiler side, but I have also been prone to dry areas. As it stands currently I have oily combination skin (not even sure this counts as a ‘type’ but its the best way i could think to describe it) with acne. Mostly my acne is on the entirety of my face from my eyes downwards, however i do get breakouts on my forehead but less frequently. In terms of the ‘type’ of acne I suffer with I have it all (lucky me) meaning I have cystic spots, whitehead and blackheads, you name it I’ve had it/have it.


Background/Previous treatment

As you can imagine like most people who’ve suffered with acne for an extended period of time, I have tired literally EVERYTHING to help improve my skin. This includes what feels like hundreds of oral antibiotics (with little effect), topical medication/antibiotics, basically every skincare product available on the market, changing my diet (ie. reducing dairy), drinking herbal tea, along with various vitamins and pills, and ‘organic/natural’ skincare treatments. Don’t get me wrong some of these methods have had a positive impact on my skin, but all have failed to fully rid me of my acne, so finally I made the decision that it was time to try Isotretinoin, something I’d wanted to avoid since I was first offered it when I was 15/16.


Current Skincare Routine

Make up removal and 1st cleanse: Pixi Nourishing Cleansing Balm

dsc_0062

Cleanser: Antipodes Juliet Skin Brightening Gel Cleanser and occasionally Pixi Glow Mud Cleanser

dsc_0070

Toner: Pixi Glow Tonic

dsc_0081

Serum: Neal’s Yard Oil Free Hydrating Facial Serum

Moisturiser: Neal’s Yard Purifying Palmarosa Daily Moisturiser

dsc_0075

Face Masks: Lush Cosmetic Warrior and Mask of Magnaminty.

dsc_0079

C

Leave a Reply

