Roaccutane – Month One

Month one of taking Roaccutane is finally over! So heres my monthly update and little bit about my hospital appointments.

As most of you probably know you can only get a prescription for Roaccutane from a dermatologist/hospital department, at least this is the case in the UK. From all I’ve read/researched/watched about Roaccutane there seems to be a lot of difference in what dosage different doctors prescribe, but I started on 0.5mg per kg of body weight so 30mg. Also you have to use two forms of contraception whilst taking Roaccutane (due to the damaging effects of Roaccutane on unborn babies) – so I started oral contraception a month before taking my first Roaccutane dose. As part of this I also have to do a pregnancy test once a month at my appointment before I get my next prescription (fun).


Cost?

As I said I live in England and therefore I am blessed with the wonderful NHS! This means I haven’t had to pay a penny for any of the appointments, blood tests, pregnancy tests, GP referrals etc! The only thing I do pay for is my monthly prescription, which costs me £8.40 a go, which to me is SO worth it. (You can get this paid for as well depending on your income etc if you apply!)


Current Skin ‘Type’

As i mentioned in my past post my skin had been on the oiler side ever since I was a teenager. But as expected as Roaccutane literally stops oil production, my skin started to dry out about two weeks in. I’ll be honest for someone who has suffered from oily skin for so long, was actually kind of a relief to finally be drying out. Also as expected I did begin to break out worse than usual, with more cystic spots and on my forehead (where I’m not usually affected).


Side Effects

Side effects are perhaps the most publicised part of Roaccutane within the media, but in reality how bad actually are they? Yes, I know I’m only a few weeks, but so far, nothing to write home about. Heres a few things I’ve noticed over the first month.

Dry Skin – as mentioned and as expected. My skin is most definitely drying out, mostly on my face but the rest of my body also. This hasn’t made a huge difference for me, I’ve just changed up a few the products I use to combat this new dryness.

Dry Lips – ok ok, this is perhaps the worst side effect yet! I’m pretty on it with lip balms anyway so I thought ‘oh I can handle a bit of dry lips’ oh the naivety . Maybe I’m being slightly dramatic as long as you invest in some good lip balms and a scrub or two and use them regularly you’ll be fine.

Dry Hair – so to match my skin and lips yes my hair is also noticeably dryer. However, this is kind of a blessing in disguise as it means I can away with washing my hair way less!

Mental Health Changes – I though I’d just add this in here as its such an important side effect to be aware of. The past month I haven’t noticed any drastic or worrying changes in my mental health, yes I’ve had a few down days when my breakouts got worse, but nothing more than usual. However, myself and those closest to me are hyperaware of this side effect and will be keeping a close eye just to be sure!


Current Skincare Routine

Make up removal and 1st cleanse: Pixi Nourishing Cleansing Balm

Cleanser: Antipodes Juliet Skin Brightening Gel Cleanser and occasionally Pixi Glow Mud Cleanser

Toner: Pixi Glow Tonic or Vichy Thermal Spa Water or La Roche-Posay Serozinc Spray

DSC_0106.jpg

Serum: Neal’s Yard Oil Free Hydrating Facial Serum

Moisturiser: Neal’s Yard Purifying Palmarosa Daily Moisturiser (Work days) Antipodes Rejoice Light Daily Facial Cream (‘At home’ days) Antipodes Vanilla Pod Hydrating Day Cream

Lip Products: (the most important) Carmex Moisturising Lip Balm – good for frequent use when on the go.

Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Intensive Lip Repair Balm – this stuff is worth its weight in gold. Although a little pricy its so worth it, in my opinion this will be a favourite of mine forever along with all the other eight hour lip products.

Lush Bubblegum Lip Scrub to get rid of all the dry skin (gross)!

Lansinoh HPA Lanolin Nipple Cream – (no I have no been putting this on my nipples) someone at work recommended this was good for dry lips so I thought I’d give it a go and so far so good!

DSC_0105.jpg

Body Moisturiser: Lets be honest, I know I should be moisturising my whole body at least once a day, but realistically does anyone actually achieve this? When I have managed to moisturise I’ve been using Aveeno Daily Moisturising Lotion for Dry skin (recommend to me by my dermatologist). This stuff absorbs pretty well but my housemate did tell me that after a while is does start to smell like cat wee (yum).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

