Hopes and Dreams for 2017

I realise I’m a little late to the party on this one but unlike most organised people I didn’t start thinking about resolutions for 2017 until it had already started. I’ve spent the last month reading endless blog posts, tweets, instagram etc about 2017 and ‘goals’ people want to achieve in their lives this year. As you can imagine this led me to question my own hopes and dreams for 2017. This is where the problem started, I was in awe of so many people managing to be so focused and making outright choices about their lives whilst I could barely make ‘goals’ I needed to achieve by the end of the day! Of course this rather than helping and motivating me, did the opposite and I began to feel guilty for being so useless and vague.

This is when I realised that setting myself resolutions this year simply isn’t going to work and will ultimately make me unhappy. So I decided to look at things in a different light.

I’ll be honest, for me 2016 was a pretty tough year in nearly all aspects of my life and quite frankly I’m not sad to see the end of it! (don’t get me wrong though there was happy moments) I finally finished university and started a challenging job, essentially I spent the whole year running to keep up with the pace of my life.

And then I came across this quote (on pinterest) ‘what if you simply devoted this year to loving yourself more?’  So there you have it, theres my ‘resolution’ for the year, my focus is going to be on myself and doing whatever makes me happy, rather than the preconceived ideas I have about what might make me happy and what I should be doing/achieving. A massive part of this is going to be about learning to ‘self care’ and make decisions that make me happy! Basically I hope to learn to be a little kinder to myself and explore life a little more.

Man that was deep. But I don’t think I’m the only one out there who could definitely do with this also being their plan for 2017.

C

Leave a Reply

