Roaccutane – Month Two

I can’t quite believe how quickly month two has gone (I swear it was only Christmas last week!) So here’s my monthly update on what being going on with my skin over the past month, which is month two of taking Roaccutane.

As I mentioned in my last update I started on a 0.5mg/kg dose (which is meant to limit the side effects as you start small and build up the dose). At the end of month one at my dermatology appointment, as I wasn’t experiencing any major side effects my dose was increased to the optimum/maintenance dose of 1mg/kg – so 55mg/day for me. I was SO worried when I first stepped up the dose as I thought this would mean a massive increase in side effect and huge breakouts! But thankfully my skin hasn’t broken out too badly and my side effects remain manageable!


So what has happened with my skin over the past month?

Much to my surprise I have actually started to see positive changes in my skin, which makes me so incredibly happy! Don’t get me wrong I still do get breakouts but definitely less than in month one and before I started Roaccutane. I’ve also noticed that they tend to clear up much quicker as they are only ‘superficial whiteheads’ rather than deep cystic acne. The general condition of my skin has also changed a fair bit, yes it continues to become less oily and more dry but also the breakout free areas of my face are SO smooth! As someone who has also suffered with acne for years and years I’ve dreamed of the day where I would have just one area of my face that was smooth so I’m over the moon that day is finally here! Things can only get better right?


Side Effects

WARNING: This section is massively TMI!

Dry Skin – just call me queen of the desert (also I am queen of the desserts). Oh the dryness! I’m being dramatic, in reality yes the dryness is a massive change for me but it’s nothing changing up the products I use can’t solve! (As you will see from the products I’ve been using this month)

Dry Lips – Of course as I mentioned last month dry lips are now a part of my life. Which again although annoying, uncomfortable and sometimes embarrassing isn’t the end of the world and is manageable. I always have been a massive hoarder of lip balms/creams anyway but now my need for lip products is on a whole new level – the obsession is real. I have some form of lip balm in every pocket and bag I own. My housemates are forever finding my lip products in random places around the house. Every shop I go into I’m greeted with the opportunity to try new products to add to my collection. Also Lip scrubs are a girls best friend.

Dry Hands –  can you see a theme yet? I thought I’d just add this on the end as my hands have also been suffering, which really isn’t anything new as I’ve always had dry hands. This combined with washing my hands about a million times a day at work AND Roaccutune is taking its toll.

Watery Eyes – ok so everything I’ve experienced so far has been somewhat expected. But oh my poor poor eyes. I was expecting them to dry out at some point, I even brought articfical tears in preparation (oh the irony)!! But no, the complete opposite has happened, my eyes are on the level of Niagara falls right now! My eyes are watering so much more than usual which is making them lovely and bloodshot (such an attractive look let me tell you). They aren’t massively itchy or anything like that it just looks like I’m having a minor emotional breakdown half the time.

Nose – ok, what is happening with my nose?! I’ve had a cold this month which certainly hasn’t helped BUT the inside of my nose is eroding away like I’ve been snorting a line or two daily! Basically the skin is SO dry its just peeling away – which lets be honest isn’t fun. So I’ve tried to keep on top of this (and failed) by putting vasoline and nipple cream up my nose before bed. This is totally rank and really dislike it. Hopefully I will find a better method over the next month.

Honestly I feel like when I write all my side effects out like this it all looks so doom and gloom! Honestly it isn’t so bad, for me having clearer skin is totally worth a little bit of inconvenience and uncomfortableness.


Skincare Routine

fullsizerender

In my pre Roaccutane days I rarely ever changed up my skincare routine once I found something that worked ‘ish’ for me. That’s all changed now as my skin begins to have different ‘needs and problem areas’. So it might look like I’m changing a lot, but I’m just experimenting as my skin type changes!

Make up removal and 1st cleanse: Pixi Nourishing Cleansing Balm

Cleanser: Antipodes Juliet Skin Brightening Gel Cleanser and occasionally Pixi Glow Mud

Toner: Neal’s Yard Rehydrating Rose Toner

Serum/Oils: Neal’s Yard Rehydrating Rose Facial Oil 

Moisturiser: Neal’s Yard Rehydrating Rose Moisturiser  (Work days) Antipodes Rejoice Light Daily Facial Cream (‘At home’ days) Neal’s Yard Rose & Mallow Moisturiser

Lip Products:  Carmex Moisturising Lip Balm, Cowshed Lippy Cow, Burt’s Bees Pomegranate Lip Balm, Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Intensive Lip Repair Balm and Eight Hour Cream Skin Protectant and Lush Bubblegum Lip Scrub. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again lip products are an absolute must!

Hand Creams: As I mentioned above my hands are suffering terribly right now! These are the products I’ve been using this month to try and help them. L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream (this stuff is the absolute best), Soap and Glory Hand Food, Sanctuary Hand Cream.

Shower/Bath Products: Sanex Zero shower gel and Femfresh Ultimate Care Soothing Wash.

Face Masks: I’ve been totally slack this month on face masks as the ones I already own are now too harsh for my skin! Hopefully over the next month I will purchase some new ones and give them a try.

So thats month two done and dusted, heres to the next month of hopefully better skin.


I’m still trying to get to grips with this whole blogging thing but I’ve now set up Bloglovin which makes it so easy to keep track of different blogs and posts! (Hopefully) if you click the link below you’ll be able to follow me there!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

