Roaccutane – Month Three

I’m so happy that month three is done and dusted and over the moon that spring is finally on the way (I’m so done with winter). So here goes, my update on my skin, side effects and everything else, three months in to taking Roaccutane.

If you’ve seen any of my previous Roaccutane updates you’ll know that I visit the dermatology nurse at my local hospital once a month to do a pregnancy test, see how I’m getting on, and get my prescription for the next month. This month I also had a fasting blood test prior to my appointment to check my liver and cholesterol levels – which were a-okay! So the nurse said that as long as everything continues ok then I won’t need anymore blood tests for the remainder of my treatment. I’m super happy about this, don’t get my wrong blood tests really don’t phase me, it’s just such a pain to try and fit fasting around work.


My Current Skin

You have no idea how happy I am to be writing this and I definitely DON’T want to jinx it but.. my skin is clearing up like magic! The number of spots I have has reduced so dramatically this month to the point where as I’m writing this I have NO active breakouts or spots (I can’t freaking believe it either). I can now for the first time in years run my fingers over my face and its almost completely smooth, this literally makes me emotional just thinking about it, its still so surreal. By no means is my skin perfect, I still have a hell of a lot of scarring to deal with and occasional breakouts but I’m SO happy with my results so far.


 Side Effects 

As always this section comes with a TMI/Graphic warning!

Dry Skin – does this even count as a side effect anymore? I’m so used to it now that moisturising regularly is just part of my beauty routine. No massive changes here, my skin is still dry and sensitive blah blah blah. However, saying that over the last few months I have been moisturising my whole body every couple of days and honestly I didn’t think my skin actually needed it that badly. Oh boy was I wrong! I took a trip to Poland this month and it was around -5 to -10 degrees everyday which for a girl born and bred in south east  England this is COLD COLD COLD. Me being a complete idiot forgot to pack any body moisturiser what so ever and oh my poor poor skin. The combination of freezing temperatures and central heating made my skin SO SO dry so much so that after showers I’d feel like my whole body was sunburnt. Lesson learnt there! As soon as I got home and started moisturising again my skin recovered instantly. Its worth noting that my face didn’t become more dry because I kept up my usual skincare routine.

Dry Lips – Again I’m now so used to having dry lips that its just the norm for me now. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream and a lip scrub or two and you’ll be fine.

Watery Eyes – I mentioned this last month but it has unfortunately continued all through month three too. When I saw the nurse this month I did mention it to her and she said it was likely just because my eyes are more sensitive than usual and nothing to worry about. I’m hoping that as the weather started to get better my eyes will also become less watery!

Nose – I guess this isn’t exactly a side effect still but worth a mentioned. As you may have read in last months update date the inside of my nose is an absolute mess and basically falling apart. You’ll be pleased to know that although my nose isn’t completely back to normal, it has stopped bleeding and peeling (thank the lord!).

Upper Lip Sweat – I’m not even going to apologise for the grossness of this as I did warn you it was TMI. My upper lip  is sweating constantly, who even knew this was a genuine thing. I’m not even sure it can be classified as sweat as it happens when I’m literally sitting still doing sweet ass nothing! At first I thought it was all related to the cold I had at the beginning of the month but apparently not as it hasn’t gone away. I did wonder if this was totally unrelated but after researching it turns out other people on Roaccutane have also had this problem so I guess I just have to wait it out (boo). (On a side note does this instantly make anyone else think of the scene in wild child with S.U.L.A – sweaty upper lip alert?? no probably just me)


Skin Care Routine 

Make up removal and 1st cleanse: Pixi Nourishing Cleansing Balm

Cleanser: Antipodes Juliet Skin Brightening Gel Cleanser and occasionally Pixi Glow Mud

Toner: Neal’s Yard Rehydrating Rose Toner

Serum/Oils: Neal’s Yard Rehydrating Rose Facial Oil

Moisturiser: Neal’s Yard Rehydrating Rose Moisturiser (Work days) Antipodes Rejoice Light Daily Facial Cream (‘At home’ days) Neal’s Yard Rose & Mallow Moisturiser

Lip Products: Carmex Moisturising Lip Balm, Cowshed Lippy Cow, Burt’s Bees Pomegranate Lip Balm, Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Intensive Lip Repair Balm and Eight Hour Cream Skin Protectant and Lush Bubblegum Lip Scrub. Also this month I’ve been using the Carmex Pomegranate Moisutring lip balm in a stick form, which I actually much prefer for on the go compared to the liquid version. I’ve added in a new lip scrub too – Lush The Kiss which I’m a little bit obsessed with.

FullSizeRender 5.jpg

Hand Creams:  L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream (this stuff is the absolute best), Soap and Glory Hand Food, Sanctuary Hand Cream.

Shower/Bath Products: Any kind of Sanex sensitive.dry and Femfresh Ultimate Care Soothing Wash.

Hair Care: My hair is a little on the dry side so I decided to get some super nourishing products so I got myself the Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Formula Shampoo (which coincidently smells like after eights). Also purchased some different dry shampoo which I am totally loving, it takes SO much less effort to get rid of the white marks – COLAB Dry Shampoo Paradise.

fullsizerender-6

Face Masks: Lush Rose Cheeks (fresh face mask), Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight Mask and Pixi Glow O2.

fullsizerender-4


I’d love to hear your comments and thoughts on your own skin journey. There you have it month three done and dusted, onwards and upwards from here.

C

Leave a Reply

