Roaccutane – Month Four & Five

Aloha, its been a while (opps). Life got a little crazy and I have been rubbish at keeping on top of my Roaccutane updates but I guessed better late than never right? So here it is a little update on everything skin, side effects and skincare.

As far as hospital things go my monthly dermatology appointments remain fairly standard with the usual pregnancy test and chat about ‘how I’m getting on’. At the end of month five the nurse and I discussed whether I wanted to end my treatment there, or continue for another month. I chose to continue as I want the best possible chance to completely clearing skin and keeping it that way. And at this point another month really isn’t that much.


My Current Skin 

The last two months my skin has been the best its been since before I was a teenager! I have literally only had one cystic spot in total, which yes was ginormous and SO SO painful but did eventually go. Aside from this my skin has been totally clear with no new breakouts what so ever. Obviously I still have scarring to deal with, but its already fading  so hopefully with time my skin will only get better.


Side Effects 

Dry Lips – No changes here, my lips remain dry and somewhat flakey, but I think applying lip balm is now a part of my personality and eternally engrained.

Dry Skin – I wish I could say the same for the rest of my (body) skin, but unfortunately not. My (body) skin has become significantly dryer and more sensitive to the point where I literally have to moisturise as soon as I get out of the shower or my skin becomes so itchy and tight.

Joint Pain – Another new side effect to add to the ever growing list. So over the last two months my joints, mostly in my legs have become way more stiff and achy especially when moving after even short periods of being in one position/resting. Consequently when standing up after sitting down I end up waddling like a penguin for a few minutes until and ache eases and my joints feels ‘stretched’ again.

Upper Lip Sweat – You might remember this was a new problem in month three and apparently its here to stay (boo). My upper lip sweat continues to be totally ridiculous and uncontrollable and probably the most annoying side effect so far. It makes applying foundation so much harder as my upper lip is a no go area.


Make up removal and 1st cleanse: Pixi Nourishing Cleansing Balm & Pixi Double Cleanse

4 and 5 2

Cleanser: Antipodes Juliet Skin Brightening Gel Cleanser and L’Oreal Paris Fine Flowers Cleansing Wash

Toner: Pixi Hydrating Milky Mist

Serum/Oils: Neal’s Yard Rehydrating Rose Facial Oil and The Ordinary Hyaluronic Acid 2% 4 and 5 3

Eye Cream: The Ordinary Caffeine Solution 5%

Moisturiser: Neal’s Yard Rehydrating Rose Moisturiser, Garnier Moisture Bomb Moisturiser and Neal’s Yard  Nourishing Orange Flower Night Cream

4 and5 4

Lip Products: Carmex Moisturising Lip Balm, Cowshed Lippy Cow, Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Intensive Lip Repair Balm and Eight Hour Cream Skin Protectant, Nivea Watermelon Shine and Lush Bubblegum & The Kiss Lip Scrub.

Face Masks: Lush Rose Cheeks (fresh face mask), Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight Mask, Pixi Glow O2, Pixi Glow Mud Cleanser (yes I’ve been using this as a mask) and Garnier Moisture Bomb Tissue Mask

Hand Creams: L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream and Shea Intensive Hand Balm and Soap and Glory Hand Food, Sanctuary Hand Cream.

gdhaa.jpg

Shower/Bath Products: Any kind of Sanex sensitive/dry and Femfresh Ultimate Care Soothing Wash.

Body Moisturisers: Weleda Skin Food,  Zerobase, The Sanctuary Luxurious Body Butter and Baby Oil


C.

Leave a Reply

